Image

32 weeks flashback and bed rest

21 Jan

Hello internet!

It’s been a little while…and don’t worry, I’m still pregnant, thankfully. I’m also late with the weekly pic update, but I’ll try to get two up this week (now that the week is almost half way over), hee hee.

I would like to say that I’ve been busy, haha. I’m really really funny.

So…here I am last week at 32 weeks. This girl is getting big. And I only have bigger to go. My face has exploded a bit, so I’ll save you from that mental actual image.

You might be wondering what I do all day. Thankfully, bed rest has not been quite the beast that I had anticipated.

First things first…the bed rest apron. If I could have gotten out my sewing machine and made a prettier one of these, I would have. Luckily for me I already had this handy dandy nail apron available. It’s leftover from my architecture school days when we worked with habitat for humanity. This was the result of one of those awesome moments when you knew you kept this one thing for a reason (knowing you would need infor SOMETHING one day) and as a complete bonus…I knew exactly where it was. I was pretty excited.

So in my bed rest apron, I keep the following items:

My cell phone (which operates as phone, texting machine, and email…score!)

The house phone (yes, we still have one of those. But, this is super helpful because we have digital phone, so we have free long distance. This ways can call family and work for free with having to use cell phone minutes…score again)

A couple of pens and a pencil

A miniature moleskin notebook (yes, I’m a bit of a snob about what I write in…this one is small, red, and lined on the inside. This is the first moleskin I’ve had that is lined…and because it’s so small, I like it). I use this even more than I thought I would.

With all these things literally tied to me all the time, I always have what I need, for the most part, wherever I am in the house. Luckily I am not confined just to one space, so whenever I have to pee (which is quite often) I try to change locations in the house so I don’t get too bored.

I’ve been able to work from home.

And when I work, I get to look out at this.

(unfortunately, the day I took this picture was kind of gray. I promise there is water out there. The water is super relaxing and makes me feel like I’m not cooped in all day long.

That’s not too shabby I have to say.

Something else that keeps my spirits up is my creativity with beverages. I have to drink about a gallon of water a day (yesterday I drank 2!) and sprucing it up with a bit of sparkling water and frozen fruit goes a long way.

I feel really lucky that I can work while I’m home. That has made the days go by much more quickly than I thought they would. I rarely turn on the tv…mostly I just listen to podcasts or Pandora (all of that makes me feel like much less of a lazy bum). I know my job right now is to incubate the boys as long as possible, but I have to say that the thing I was most upset about when I had to go on bed rest was being lazy and not being able to contribute (I know my contribution right now is to keep the babes inside…but still…I had some issues). This isn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be.

And don’t worry…I’m still crafting as much as possible, but that is for a different post.

Happy Saturday…next week, I’ll catch up…I swear.

2 Responses to “32 weeks flashback and bed rest”

  1. jane January 22, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    Ahhhh … I love the apron! Bet that comes in handy! I feel bad sometimes about not being able to contribute as much as I would like … and I’m not pregnant with twins! 🙂 Love the blue glass!

  2. bein good to me January 23, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    The belly!! Congrats on making it to yet another milestone and with a smile on your face as you’re on bed rest…what a wonderful, inspirational outlook on something that most folks would consider a negative situation. I’m so happy to hear it!
    -Lisa

Leave a Reply

