Image

Genius idea – pie-in-a-jar

3 Dec

Ok. I am not the cook of our household…that would be the hubs.

But I do enjoy baking. I say enjoy because I’m not going to promise that I’m good at it.

I love the idea of pie. We actually had pie at our wedding instead of cake…best decision I ever made. Pie is just so good. I could go one for a while about pie. The thing I don’t love so much about pie is that one has to make a TON. When I have sweets in my house, it’s not a good idea for me to have an entire pie at my disposal. Because…you see, it will all be disposed of, in my belly, in record time.

It’s the reason I don’t bake pies. I try to stick with cookies or muffins or something of an individual size that I can keep a few of, but give away the rest.

The cooking channel has just opened my eyes to a genius idea. Pie in a jar. They are tiny individual sized pies that you can freeze in jars and eat when you feel the need…OMG!

20111203-163126.jpg

Are these not the cutest things you’ve ever seen? I mean, seriously. They’re in little half-pint sized jars just ready for this lady to eat!

These particular ones are cherry…one of my favorites. These are the real cherries, too. Not the too red ones in a jar. The ones you have to pit and have that delicious sour twang.

You can get the recipe here. If you end up making it before I do, please let me know how it turns out. I can’t wait!

2 Responses to “Genius idea – pie-in-a-jar”

  1. the waiting December 3, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    Those look AWESOME! They would also make great little holiday gifts 🙂

  2. bein good to me December 5, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    Genius indeed! Love love love this.
    -Lisa

Leave a Reply

