Dare to….have traditions.

19 Dec

Well folks.  I always like to have a picture with every post. 

It’s because I like to look at pictures.  I’m a visual person.

But, this post will not have pictures.  This post is about my most favorite tradition.  it is the tradition in which every male on one side of my family gets boxers for Christmas.  They have to open them in front of everyone.  And they are the really inappropriate Joe Boxer boxers.  They say things like, “how’s it hanging?”  And a camouflage pair that says, “would you like to meet my elite unit?”  After the men and boys open their gifts, the fun doesn’t stop there.  Oh no.  They proceed to put on the boxers (over their clothes, mind you) and do the cha cha cha line dance around the house.  It’s fantastic.  So, while this is a lovely family tradition, because I’m pretty sure members of my family are the only ones who actually read my blog, I don’t want to lose my only readership. 🙂

The best part of this tradition was that it was started by my 70 year old grandmother.  Unfortunately, Grandma is no longer with us, but the tradition continues.  and it is really fantastic.  Another reason this time of year is my favorite part of the year.

4 Responses to “Dare to….have traditions.”

  1. Ashley December 20, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Sooo super cute!! I’m sure that is hysterical!! Hope you have an awesome Christmas and get some time to relax. Miss you dear! xo

  2. Ellie December 20, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    WHAT?! No picture?! It sounds hilarious! Had to read it aloud to my husband. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Kim@NewlyWoodwards December 20, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    This is HILARIOUS. I have half a mind to buy all the male cousins a pair this Christmas that say from Santa. 😉

    Thanks for linking up.

  4. bein good to me December 27, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    Hahahah! I also wish there were photos to accompany this post!
    -Lisa

Leave a Reply

