dare to…be thankful

15 Nov

This week, I’m starting on the Dare to DIY Party with a bunch of other folks from the Newly Woodwards blog. I am rather new to the blogosphere, and I love crafts, so I thought this was a great way to get started.

Week Uno:

Dare to be thankful. This dare is to create something Thanksgiving-y. There are all sorts of ideas that you can see here.

I admit, I took this one a bit easy. We’ll call it simple :). Most of my time is tied up studying right now, so I don’t have a ton of time to craft (much to my own regret. TestingwillbedonesoonTestingwillbedonesoon I hope).

Tonight, we are having a group of people over who work for the hubs for movie night. I thought this was the perfect opportunity to create something a bit festive for our festivities.

When I think of Thanksgiving, I think of fall and fall colors…specifically the colors of leaves when they change. We don’t get a ton of color change in my neck of the woods, but when we do it is one of the most beautiful things that nature can provide…A beautiful ending of my favorite season…SUMMER!

This is simple, I warn you. I also didn’t buy anything for this “project”. But, I like it. It adds a pop of color to my otherwise plain table scape and also really plays with the light that comes through the window in the dining room.


I basically took 3 glass milk jugs I found at random thrift stores (these were bought in preparation for my wedding, though were never used. I kept them because I knew I would want to use them one day, and looky here!) and napkins that I received as a wedding gift. I LOVE color. I love bright colors and different colors and colors that don’t necessarily match. As a previous Arts & Crafts coordinator for a summer camp, I was often asked what my favorite color is. My answer would be and will always be, “I respect all colors equally”. That can be quite frustrating for a child, but it’s true for me. I love all colors and I go through phases of loving certain colors and then not loving them. I would say that the one color I really don’t like is that clam/salmon/mauvey color. Reminds me of vomit.

BACK to the Party.

Two of the milk jugs say “since 1852” on them, and the one in the center is monogramed with an A.


Be sure to check out the Dare to DIY party at the Newly Woodwards and check out every else who is attending. You can find a link to their posts in the comments.

Happy Monday!

8 Responses to “dare to…be thankful”

  1. Kim@NewlyWoodwards November 15, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Cute! Just a little bit of festivity. Hope you have a great time with guests. And, thanks for joining in on our party at Dare to DIY. I really appreciate it.

  2. Shannon November 15, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    For something so simple, it sure packs a visual punch! And I love the milk bottles, I’m always on the hunt for more of them!

  3. sarahloub November 15, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Oo YES! Another reason/excuse for me to find more thrifty glass + table linens, both of which I love. (My latest favorites are old Mason jars and random colored bottles.) Love this simply elegant idea!

    • Heather November 15, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

      I LOVE stuff like that. My wedding center pieces were made up of brightly colored glass jars that I made by decoupaging sand on the inside. I’ve been meaning to write a post about my wedding and you’ve just inspired me to do so.

      Thanks!

  4. Michael - Innkeeper November 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    love the colors. very inspired!

  5. Jenny @ Words On Wendhurst November 15, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    Super cute! I have a few of those milk glasses, love them! Yours now have the perfect pop of color! 🙂

  6. Amanda November 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Simple works and its honestly a big necessity most of the time for me too. Good luck with all your testing!

  7. Laurel November 17, 2010 at 12:07 am #

    It is so easy to make things look good, isn’t it? I love this!

Leave a Reply

