My new (to me) car

3 Sep

lucy...she was a good car. treated me right.

Well, internet, I had a really awesome car. To be honest, I have a really hilarious vehicle history. I’m 27 and my latest car purchase is my fifth. And they have all been my own. I have bought every single one of the five (had some help with car #1, my mom’s 1986 Honda accord, and with Lucy).

But my most recent car, the 1994 Acura Integra, was a mighty quick purchase. I was driving home from college around the Thanksgiving holiday (unfortunately, because my Grandmother had passed away). My parents live in the country, and when I say that, I mean, out there. There are bears and deer and who knows what other types of wild animals. They aren’t really “near” anything whatsoever.

So, I was driving home, on NC Hwy 41, somewhere in between Leeland and Harrells and I hit a deer. It was a sad sight. I was very lucky, the deer, not so much (I did shed a few tears for the deer’s sake after the shock passed). I wasn’t hurt, but my car, oh my car. It was gone. You could see the ground in between my front bumper and the radiator (which used to be right next to the front bumper). This is what she looked like.


So sad!

So that car was dead. I needed a new car, ASAP. I had to get back to school that Monday. So that weekend, I found what I would later name, Lucy (named for my grandmother’s middle name…I think she’d like it). She was a bit old, the car that is, and had some wear, but she was still kickin’ it. I bought the 1994 Acura Integra with 150,000 miles on it. I moved up in the world to power door locks and windows and it was a stick-shift, which made me feel powerful ☺.

had just hit 210,000. I love mileage. I have a real issue making sure I know the gas mileage I get with EVERY tank of gas.

I had Lucy for almost three years. She was a great car and I got her up to 210,000 miles. I had to put some money into her, but it was so worth it.

Now……..onto the NEW (to me) car. Here she is…….

She’s a 2007 Toyota Matrix with 54,000 miles on her (and counting). I think I’m going to name her Bonita (after my mom. She’s sensible with some sass and so is my mom, hehe) My mama goes by Bonnie, so this is really an homage.

Things I love:
The back seat folds down conveniently and is covered with hard plastic so I can’t mess up the upholstery, a big plus.
It has FOUR DOORS!
My new stereo! After market is key for me. If you drive as much as I do (2-hours everyday) you need a nice sounding stereo. You can read more about this here.

the old stereo


the NEW one

Keyless entry!
Automatic transmission!
And STILL really good gas mileage. I don’t have exact numbers yet, but the tank is only about 11 gallons, which is a good sign thus far.
I also LOVE the color. Navy blue is much better than teal (in my opinion). I’m back in the 21st century. woo hoo.

The really best thing about this car, is that it can scoot. I was afraid I’d be losing some pick up when I let go of ol’ Lucy, but oh no. Bonita can kick it with the best of them.

I am so excited about this purchase. I love being an adult. There is a real feeling of freedom.

2 Responses to “My new (to me) car”

  1. Ashley September 4, 2010 at 2:12 am #

    Now where is photo of Bonita!!?? Congrats!!

  2. Ashley September 9, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Love the new ride!! Woohoo 4 doors!

Leave a Reply

